[gn_service title=”Question 1:” size=”32″ icon=”http://findicons.com/files/icons/2083/go_green_web/64/help.png”]
A player’s ball comes to rest on a bridge within the margins of a water hazard. Are they permitted to ground their club on the bridge when:
a) Walking up to their ball
b) Addressing the ball prior to making their stroke.
[gn_service title=”Answer 1:” size=”32″ icon=”http://findicons.com/files/icons/2083/go_green_web/64/comments.png”]
Yes, the player may ground their club on the bridge at any time.
[gn_label]Note[/gn_label]A bridge is an obstruction. In a hazard the club may touch an obstruction at address or in the backward movement for the stroke. Touching the bridge prior to address is also permissible, since an obstruction in a water hazard is not ground in the hazard. This applies even if the bridge has been declared an integral part of the course. Decision 13-4/30.
[gn_service title=”Question 2:” size=”32″ icon=”http://findicons.com/files/icons/2083/go_green_web/64/help.png”]
Danny’s ball lies within the margins of a water hazard. He plays right-handed and there is a bridge interfering with his stance and area of intended swing to the green. May he take relief without penalty from this immovable obstruction?
[gn_service title=”Answer 2:” size=”32″ icon=”http://findicons.com/files/icons/2083/go_green_web/64/comments.png”]
No, there is no relief for interference by an immovable obstruction when the player’s ball lies in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard. Rule 24-2b.
[gn_label]Note[/gn_label] Had Danny’s ball been at rest outside the margin of the water hazard or lateral water hazard and the bridge was interfering with his stance or area of intended swing then free relief would have been available. In this situation, to take relief he must lift his ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief.
[gn_note]The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes ©2012 and may not be copied without permission.[/gn_note]